Give and Take

Over the course of ECMP 355, I have gotten lots of support from my classmates. It was very reassuring to know that if I ever encountered a technical issue or simply had a curiosity, I could turn to a community of people who had my back and were willing to contribute to my learning. However, as we learned throughout the course, part of being a good digital citizen is not just taking but also giving/offering something up in return. Good digital citizens are not simply voyeurs, but those who actively participate. Keeping this in the forefront of my mind, I also, in turn, contributed in various ways to the learning of my classmates whenever possible. This took many forms.

  1. Twitter. Over the past 2 months, I could be seen:
  • connecting with classmates and others online as a means of helping fellow educators build their PLN.
  • tweeting over 245 times!
  • sharing classroom photos, videos, and student work to help give practical lessons/ideas to others that they themselves can use or adapt.
  • liking posts/tweets as a means of supporting others thoughts and acknowledging that I find links/resources helpful.
  • commenting on others’ posts by offering up my own insights/points of view from a French Immersion classroom.
  • retweeting useful links, resources, and blog posts so that others could have access to them. It was also a means of promoting my classmates and giving their blogs exposure.
  • using the ecmp355 hashtag as a means of contributing to our online resources and categorizing our posts.
  • engaging in various chats on my own time as a means of engaging with PD and collaborating with others (SaskEd chat as well as a DigCiz chat hosted by our professor, Katia Hildebrandt).

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 8.14.51 PM

2. Google+. Over the past 2 months, I could be seen:

  • responding to classmates’ questions about blogging, tweeting, etc. and offering up answers. If I did not know an answer off hand, I worked to find it online.
  • offering up questions that I had, and that I had a feeling others had as well. This saved others from asking and created an archive of Q&A.

3. Blogging. Over the past 2 months, I could be seen:

  • inviting others to comment on my blog posts and attempting to create discussion/dialogue in the comments sections.
  • posting feedback, opinions, and questions on others’ blog posts on a regular basis.
  • using pingbacks to various classmates, including Kim Thue.
  • creating screencasts that guide others through various online processes (coding).
  • responding to others’ comments on my blog posts to spark and develop deeper discussions.

4. Online Sessions. Over the pas 2 months, I could be seen:

  • offering up thoughts, opinions, and commentary in the chat section of our online courses (Tuesday and Thursday nights).
  • sharing insights after breakout sessions.
  • attempting to answer other students’ questions in the chat so as to lighten Professor Hildebrandt’s load.
  • engaging/participating in others’ initiatives (uploading to Padlet).

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 9.08.21 PM

My hope is that this give and take between classmates will continue after the course is done. Many of them will be in my PLN for a very long time, as the ideas, opinions, resources, etc. we have shared over the past 2 months has been invaluable. Technology really does lend itself well to collaboration and PD. Great experience!

Leave a Reply

